Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider

Translation

English Bulgarian Filipino Indonesian Polish Portuguese Romanian Spanish

What is a Duke of Edinburgh’s Award?

“My DofE has made me realise I can be whoever I want to be.” Jay, Gold Award holder

Like Jay, many young people find achieving a DofE Award life-changing. A fun adventure and major challenge, three progressive Award levels (Bronze, Silver and Gold) and a wide range of activities offer endless possibilities to anyone aged 14 to 24. Millions of young people in the UK have already taken part in the world’s leading youth achievement award – pushing personal boundaries, gaining new skills and enhancing their CVs and university applications. Time to get involved and go the extra mile?

What do I need to do?

Volunteering: undertaking service to individuals or the community

Physical: improving in an area of sport, dance or fitness activities

Skills: developing practical and social skills and personal interests

Expedition: planning, training for and completion of an adventurous journey in the UK or abroad

Time Requirements

Volunteering

Physical

Skills

Expedition

3 months

3 months

3 months

Plan, train for and complete a 2 day, 1 night expedition

All participants must undertake a further 3 months in the Volunteering, Physical or Skills section.

Key Dates

Date Time Activity Venue
Thurs 12th Oct  6.00 – 6.30 Parents and student information evening Main Hall
Tues 17th Oct 1.00 –1.20 Registration Meeting – bring forms Room 43
Wed 1st Nov 3.00 – 4.15 Edofe training and programme planning ILS
Tues 7th Nov 1.00 – 1.20 Practice Walk Meeting Room 43
Sun 12th Nov 9.30 – 3.00 Practice Walk (Light Packs) Ham Hill
Sat 24th Feb 9.00 – 4.15 Training Day Preston School
Sun 11th March 9.30 – 3.30 Practice Walk (Heavier Packs) Cadbury Castle
Wed 21st March 3.00 –5.00 Expedition Preparation ILS
Wed 28th March 3.00 –5.00 Expedition Preparation ILS
Tues 8th May 5.00 – 7.00 Kit check MFL Block
Sat 12th & Sun 13th May 8.15 (sat) -
4.30 (sun)
Practice Expedition Blandford, Dorset
Thurs 17th May 3.00 - 5.00 Expedition Preparation ILS
Tues 19th June 5.00 - 7.00 Kit check MFL Block
Sat 23rd June & Sun 24th June 8.00 (sat) -
5.00 (sun)
Qualifying Expedition Quantocks

DofE Downloads

2017  Preston School